Whole 30, Day 8 – A Kitchen Marathon

Today we celebrated day 7 of the Whole 30 in the kitchen batch-cooking. Even before the Whole 30 it was a practice we got into and really one of the major KEYS to success when it comes to healthy eating. It’s just WAY to easy to grab something less than healthy when you’re starving and the fridge is empty. So what did our hard work get us today?

Dave’s the salad king in our house and ended up making 17 servings of salad. Yup, count ‘em, 17! We eat A LOT of salads and we like to make them in individual containers so they’re easy to grab’n’go.

I started with making a batch of my Lean Green Super Soup (you can see the video I made last summer on our youtube channel. I’ll also share the recipe here in another post).

Then I made a double batch of mayonnaise. Now, we’ve never been big mayo eaters, but let me tell you, if you’ve never tried making your own home made mayo, are you in for a treat! I was licking the bowl like it was cake batter and Dave said “Why would anyone buy miracle whip?” Actually, he also said “Too bad you can’t taste a picture!” hee hee  Here’s the kick-ass recipe from Mel at www.theclothesmakethegirl.com. The key to success with homemade mayo: everything MUST start at room temperature and you gotta drizzle the oil –s–l–o–w–l–y–… Get your feet wide, your hands supported, tuck your elbows into your sides (trust me on this one!) and get ready for the long haul. With my double batch, I drizzled for a full 15 minutes! Yup, my shoulders were burning but it was worth every second! :)

Next, I moved on to an egg casserole, which we love for breakfast. I made today’s with grass-fed ground beef, portobello mushrooms, spinach, a dozen eggs and a glug of egg whites. I don’t measure – just enough to cover the casserole. Maybe I’ll take a snap of tomorrow’s breakfast.

To go with the casserole, I also made another batch of sweet potatoe hash browns, using Caribbean sweet potatoes, which have become one of our new favourite things. Ridiculously good. Seriously, they taste like candy! I also baked a few extra to eat post-workout.

Next was a lamb and beef stew, which is still happily bubbling in the slow cooker on the counter. I added turnips, carrots, parsnips and rutabaga (which I’ve had a strange love for since I was a kid). The meat is from my beloved butcher and all grass-fed goodness. Can’t wait to get into it!

Finally, I made some good old fashioned meat balls. I love meat balls. I find it so strange that so many paleo meatball recipes on the internet use almond flour. I find you don’t need any kind of flour to make a good meatball. I started with Mel’s Paleo Czech Meatball recipe, which her hubby says should be called “Czech Out My Balls” (hee hee)  but instead of caraway seeds, I used the spices from Caveman Strong’s “Not your typical grandma’s Paleo Meatballs“. Dyno-mite!

Anyhow, now that all is said and done, it’s time to go enjoy some of the fruits of our labors…Bon Apetite everyone!

2 comments on “Whole 30, Day 8 – A Kitchen Marathon

Leave a Reply

