Whole 30, Day 10 – You Are What You Eat

Happy pigs laying in an outdoor pen.

"Only Happy Pigs for Brady's" (photo from Brady's Meats facebook page)

I have a confession to make. David and I have been eating “clean” for a really long time, but it’s only recently we decided to go all out and switch to grass-fed beef and naturally raised meat.  We resisted for the same reason I imagine most people do, it’s expensive and hard to find. But then one day my world changed. A colleague at work mentioned Brady’s Meat & Deli, a local butcher that specializes in hormone-free and naturally-raised meat. Not only do they have a fantastic selection, but their service is great and their prices are completely reasonable. I’m hooked. Now, each shopping trip is like a little adventure and I’m like a kid showing off their Christmas haul when I get home to show Dave all the goodies in my bag. Today’s highlight: naturally-raised ground lamb I’ll be incorporating into a sheppard’s pie tomorrow night. I’m giddy just thinking about it!

After the butchers, I went to the grocery store to stock up on veggies and a few other staples. As I made my way through the store, I was thinking that a lot of people on an eating program like this might feel a sense of deprivation, passing by all the things they can no longer have. But like I said, we’ve been steering clear of processed foods for a while, so I can pass the cookies and cereal without skipping a beat. To be honest, the main thoughts I used to think went something like this… “Look at all this CRAP that most people eat! No wonder people are fat and unhealthy…These food producers making this sh!t should be jailed. It’s criminal to call this stuff FOOD….etc etc” A little… judgmental, no?

Well, I’m happy to say today I had a completely different experience. It was more like a sense of FREEDOM. I don’t have to worry about all the boxes and labels and things that aren’t going to end up on my plate. Shopping is so much easier eating the Whole 30 way. Get in, get what you want, get out. Lickety split.

And as far as the judgement, I’m reminded of something Abraham Hicks often says – Don’t push against what you do not want,  just choose what you do want. A lesson applicable to both the food we put in our mouths and the thoughts we put in our minds. Always learning 🙂

If you’re still on the fence over your protein sources, bear in mind the advice given by Melissa and Dallas in the Whole 30 Success Guide, if you can only afford to buy the best in one area of your food budget, make it your protein source first. After all, pesticides can be washed off your veggies, but you’re not rinsing the hormones out of your meat. Check out http:www.eatwild.com/basics.html to read more about the benefits of eating good quality meat and click on their shopping guide to locate a source near you. And of course, if you’re anywhere near KW Southwestern Ontario, go visit my new BFFs at Brady’s Meats.

Leave a Reply

