Whole 30, Day 18 – Chicken “Kitchen Sink” Salad

We love our one-dish meals. This is one of the “everything but the kitchen sink” dishes that came together effortlessly and turned out incredible.

If you remember our weekly cooking plan I shared in a previous post, you’ll know we didn’t have kitchen duties last night, but I found myself peering into the fridge wondering how I could jazz up  the left over meat I’d pulled off a roast chicken from the night before. I don’t know about you guys, but plain salad topped with plain chicken meat is a little too much like “diet food” for our tastes.

So I decided to check the produce drawers and see what I could throw together. I added some broccoli, cabbage, carrots, peppers, fennel and green apples, then mixed up a dressing of home made mayo, lemon juice, cumin, basil and a good glug of Carlson’s yummy orange flavored cod liver oil. The result? An incredibly nutritious, fresh-tasty one-dish meal that satisfies the body, the eyes and the belly. Brilliant! …If I do say so myself! 😉

You can do the same with whatever you find in your produce drawers. I’ve also replicated this idea with canned salmon or tuna. Be creative and give it a try the next time your fridge contents are making you snore. And be sure to share the results. You never know what kind of masterpiece is just sitting there, waiting to be created.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

